4614 Prospect Avenue, Ste. 550
Cleveland, OH 44103

Journeys of Discovery: Navigating the Intersections of Adoption Conference

Offered virtually on Friday, October 23 & Saturday, October 24, 2020

Adoption Knowledge Affiliates and Adoption Network Cleveland have joined forces to present “Journeys of Discovery: Navigating the Intersections of Adoption,” a virtual conference to be held on Friday & Saturday, October 23 & 24, 2020! This amazing opportunity will bring together the expertise of both organizations to offer presentations by national and state experts on adoption, providing opportunities for members of the adoption and foster care community as well as adoption professionals to receive support and skills, gain knowledge, and network with others. The conference delivers two full days of educational and supportive content. Professionals can expect CEUs for Social Workers and Counselors (including ethics) and ample networking opportunities.

Journeys of Discovery: Navigating the Intersections of Adoption will also be a time to share, learn, and grow together. Join us to explore the lifelong journey of adoption and its many facets along the way.

Keynote Speakers

Conference Agenda and Workshop Descriptions

  • Schedule for Friday, October 23, 2020

    9:00-9:40 a.m. ET (8:00-8:40 a.m. CENTRAL)  Welcome from Adoption Knowledge Affiliates and Adoption Network Cleveland

    9:40-11:40 a.m. ET (8:40-10:40 a.m. CT) Keynotes on Ethics

         Panel Members:

    • Patricia Martinez-Dorner, LCSW
    • Will Francis, LMSW & Executive Director for the National Association of Social Workers, Texas Chapter
    • Tyler Pennington, Attorney, Board Certified Family Law
    • Joellen Peters, PhD, Support Texas Adoptee Rights (STAR), Board President
    • Renee Gelin, Save Our Sisters (SOS), Board President

     

    11:45 a.m.-12:45 p.m. ET (10:45-11:45 a.m. CT)  Keynote by Sharon Kaplan Roszia: The Ethical Traps in Building Families through Adoption and Permanency

    1:15-2:45 p.m. ET (12:15-1:45 p.m. CT)    Workshop Session 1

    2:55-4:25 p.m. ET (1:55-3:25 p.m. CT)   Workshop Session 2

    7:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. CT) Optional Bonus Evening Programming

    • Meet & Greet Networking Time - 7:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. CT)
    • Breakouts 8:00 p.m. ET (7:00 p.m. CT)
      • Male Adoptee Workshop facilitated by Rich Uhrlaub, M.Ed.
      • General Discussion Meeting (All constellation members welcome) facilitated by Adoption Network Cleveland team
  • Schedule for Saturday, October 23, 2020

     9:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. CT)  Welcome by Adoption Knowledge Affiliates and Adoption Network Cleveland

    10:10 a.m.-12:10 p.m. ET (9:10-11:10 a.m.)  Morning Plenary Session

         Keynote by Torrey E. Carroll, MA, LPC & Nikki M. Carroll, MA, LPC, Navigating the Intersections of Transracial Adoption

    12:45 p.m. ET (11:45 p.m. CT)  Workshop Session 4

    2:10 p.m. ET (1:10 p.m. CT) Workshop Session 5

    3:35 p.m. ET (2:35 p.m. CT)  Workshop Session 6

    5:00 p.m. ET (4:00 p.m. CT)  Workshop Session 7

    7:30 p.m. ET (6:30 p.m. CT) Bonus Optional Evening Programming - Free and open to the public

    • 7:30-8:00 p.m. ET (6:30-7:00 p.m. CT) Awards Ceremony
    • 8:00 p.m. ET (7:00 p.m. CT) Solo Show and Q & A with Artist - Hot Dogs at the Eiffel Tower, Maggie Gallant 

Conference Registration

FULL Conference Early Bird (Ends 10/1) Regular (After 10/1)
Member $75 $95
Non-Member $95 $115
Full-time Student (Requires valid ID) $50 $70

Registration includes two full days of content plus access to recordings for many of the workshops for 90 days to view on-demand.

CEUs and Certificates of Attendance

Ohio Continuing Education Units for Social Workers and Counselors are provided at no extra charge through a grant from the Woodruff Foundation. A total of 7.5  CEUs (including 3 ethics) are available on Friday and 7.0 on Saturday for Social Workers. A total of 7.5 CEUs (including 3 ethics) are available on Friday and 4.5 are available on Saturday for Counselors.  All CEUs are pending final approval.

Certificates of attendance will also be available for foster and adoptive parents and professionals wishing to pursue CEU hours for other states/licensures independently. Please indicate upon registering for the conference if you would like CEUs or a Certificate of Attendance.